





The Edinburgh Gadda Prize

HONORARY PRESIDENTS: Gianrico Carofiglio and Fabrizio Gifuni FOUNDER AND PRIZE COMMITTEE CHAIR: Federica G Pedriali

The Sixth Edition

The Edinburgh Gadda Prize will host its sixth edition – **Edinburgh 2019** – to coincide with the centenary of Italian Studies at Edinburgh and the Biennial Conference of the Society for Italian Studies, Edinburgh, 26-28 June 2019. Two award categories – **Established Scholars** and **Early Career Scholars** – make up the edition.

Key Dates

Closing date: **28 February 2019** Results: **31 May 2019** Ceremony: **26 June 2019**

RULES AND REGISTRATION

Established Scholars

Authors and publishers may enter **scholarly monographs** published in **English** or **Italian** on any aspect of **20th and 21st century Italian culture**, and with **publication dates** between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2018.

Early Career Scholars

Authors (age 40 or younger by the closing date) and publishers may enter **first scholarly monographs** published in **English** or **Italian** on any aspect of **20th and 21st century Italian culture**, and with **publication dates** between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2018.

Exclusions

Authors and publishers may **not** enter more than one work per Award Category. Previous EGP Winners are excluded.

Other Rules

Members of the Editorial Board of the *Edinburgh Journal of Gadda Studies* and the EJGS Editing Team are **not** excluded. Former Members of the EGP Committees and former EGP Panel Judges are also **not** excluded.

Edinburgh SIS 2019 Banner © Richard Demarco



Registration Fee

A registration fee of **£45 GBP** per work submitted applies. Registration fees must be paid through our <u>secure</u> <u>ePay store</u> by the closing date.

Registration

Authors and publishers must send their entries (pdf attachment of published version) to infogaddaprize@ed.ac.uk

- giving full contact and personal details including date of birth (Early Career Scholars only);
- confirming payment of registration fee.

Award Ceremony

The Award Ceremony will take place at the **Scottish Parliament** on **Wednesday 26 June, 6:00-8:00pm**, as part of the event *Speaking in Cultures* sponsored by the Prize.

Award Ceremony Attendance

Prize winners are expected to attend the Award Ceremony.

The Prizes

Edinburgh 2019 carries **four prizes** of **£700 GBP** each. This sum is only awarded as a fixed contribution toward travel and accommodation expenses incurred by the Winners to attend the Award Ceremony in Edinburgh.

As part of their award, Winners will receive a diploma, book prizes, free Edinburgh SIS 2019 Registration Package, and a 2-year Full Membership of the Society for Italian Studies.

If Winners cannot attend the Award Ceremony, no monetary award will be made, and the diploma and book prizes will be sent by post.

Any Special Mentions awarded by the Judging Panels do not carry monetary awards.

Judging Panels

The decisions by the Judging Panels are final and cannot be appealed. The Panels may decide to award Special Mention status to one or more meritorious entries. They may also decide to award no Prize if they consider that the candidacies presented do not justify its attribution.

There will be four Judging Panels this year, two per award category – with the following serving as **Judges**:

Gian Mario Anselmi (Bologna) | Mario Barenghi (Milan-Bicocca) | Manuela Bertone (Nice Sophia Antipolis) | Giuseppe Bonifacino (Bari) | Charles Burdett (Durham) | Ann Caesar (Warwick) | Timothy Campbell (Cornell) | Rino Caputo (Rome Tor Vergata) | Anna Dolfi (Florence) | Raffaele Donnarumma (Pisa) | Giorgio Ficara (Turin) | Gabriele Frasca (Salerno) | Andrea Giammei (Bryn Mawr) | Alberto Godioli (Gröningen) | Robert Gordon (Cambridge) | Paola Italia (Bologna) | Stefano Jossa (Royal Holloway) | Massimo Lollini (Oregon) | Federico Luisetti (St Gallen) | Donatella Martinelli (Parma) | Sergio Parussa (Wellesley) | Giuliana Pieri (Royal Holloway) | Nicoletta Pireddu (Georgetown) | Massimo Riva (Brown) | Mara Santi (Ghent) | Cristina Savettieri (Scuola Normale) | Domenico Scarpa (Primo Levi Centre) | Luca Somigli (Toronto) | Barbara Spackman (Berkeley) | Giuseppe Stellardi (Oxford) | Enrico Testa (Genoa).



Notification

Only Prize Winners and those who have been awarded a special mention will be notified. This will be done by email and on the EGP Webpage.

Previous EGP Editions

Edinburgh 2010 | Milan 2011 | Edinburgh 2012 | Montecassino and Rome 2013 | Harvard 2015

Contacts

Prize Committee Chair – Federica G Pedriali Prize Secretaries – Simone Calabrò and Alessandra Pellegrini de Luca

All enquiries should be directed to: <u>infogaddaprize@ed.ac.uk</u>

Main Website Upload

The Edinburgh Gadda Prize Website will be uploaded on 28 February.

Buona partecipazione!

6 h Pelos

Federica G Pedriali

Founder and Prize Committee Chair The Edinburgh Gadda Prize – <u>www.gaddaprize.ed.ac.uk</u>

Professor of Literary Metatheory and Modern Italian Studies Director of Research, Department of European Languages and Cultures School of Literatures Languages and Cultures – University of Edinburgh

academia – <u>https://edinburgh.academia.edu/federicagpedriali</u>